Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Squadron Patches

Mr. 'H'

Call Me a Cab
Are there any schools of thought when selecting "squadron patches" to go on to your A2?

:eusa_doh:

Is is right to go with:

~what looks nice?
~what has historical significance to you?
~what a character in a book/movie has?
~what unit/job you think you might have been assigned to in WWII?
~no patches: who are you to wear a patch, anyway?

I'd be interested in getting all'y'all's thoughts on this! :)

PS - I'm a novice and wouldn't know one patch from another, nor what the best way to go about selecting one. ;)

Feraud

Bartender
Can we include in this discussion name patches?
Their selection and placement?
I would like to see examples of the members' patches if possible.
Thanks!

Harp

I'll Lock Up
I own a Pakistani goat A2 derivative that-while admittedly patched-is a good
knockaround jacket with excellent fit, woolen cuffs, and zipper. I served in
the 101st Airborne, so I wear my brigade patch with division insignia and
leather name strip.

patterson

One of the Regulars
This can be a touchy subject. Reproducing a "current" jacket, i.e. a squadron currently active, could be misconstrued as representing yourself as an actual member of that force. Generally, I don't see many collectors doing something like this. What I do see that I personally object to is putting rank insignia - and my own picky thing - nametags. Regardless of the vintage you are representing, these bother me and some veterans have told me it bothers them too...