Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Where to Begin?

30sbound

New in Town
Green-as-grass & looking for help! Most everything about me is 30s-vintage...except the look. Age? well, not quite; early boomer...Music? swing... Reading? old Life mags & pulp... Car? 1938 Packard. Which brings me to the awful realization that I've been driving it for the past two years wearing jeans & a T instead of a fedora & high-waist double breasted pinstripe. You've heard it all before, but how do I get the look that my grandfather had? (That's him as my avatar). I'd like to go with modern-made opposed to true vintage unless you can convince me otherwise. Any help guiding me down the path would be appreciated.

fedoralover

Call Me a Cab
Well, if you mean modern made as in Modern "Custom" made then you will be fine, but if you mean modern off the shelf, then you are starting in the wrong direction. With a few exceptions most modern off the shelf fedora's are very poor quality and not worth the money. But the first thing you need to figure out is your hat size and the look you want. Is it a copy of the one in your avatar? If so, there are hatters who can make one for you that will look very close to it. Specify some of the things you are looking for.

regards fedoralover

besdor

Vendor/Sponsor
You shouldn't knock todays hats fedoralover . While you are 100% right that todays hats are inferior to the hats of yearteryear , if you convice hat wearers not to purchase new hats, the companies will go out of business .It's hard enough to convice todays generation to buy a hat ,but someone who definately a hat wearer should support theor local hat store. There ain't many left today!!!

Nathan Flowers

Head Bartender
Staff member