Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Feldmutze under construction...

Mike1973

A-List Customer
Just knocking up a few feldmutze up for an up and coming Great War theatre production...

mutze002.jpg

Spot the original...

mutze004.jpg

And what they look like finished...

mutze003.jpg

I've also got to make a few officers caps, thats next weeks job. I'm definatley not a tailor by trade, this is just a very occasional sideline I do in my spare time.
These are my mates who are supplying all the uniform for the production -
http://www.khakidevil.co.uk/Overview.html

Better get back to the sewing machine...

Mike1973

A-List Customer
Cheers Dean!

I come from a living history background, rather than a collector, so most of my kit gets a fair bit of use and abuse. (film jobs are worst for trashing kit :mad: ) Not fair wearing out original kit, so where possible we try and replicate it ourselves.

Jerekson

One Too Many
I can't wait to see the finished film! I'm working on a 30's film myself, at the moment.

deanglen

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I believe they are called "kratzchen". Worn on fatigue duty, non-combat situations. I always thought they lacked visors so that they would not be confused with officer's headgear, but that is most likely a doubtful theory of mine. I'll take an M43 Feldmutze anyday. Or one of the Camo jobs. Smart looking.

dean

Vladimir Berkov

One Too Many
deanglen said:
I believe they are called "kratzchen". Worn on fatigue duty, non-combat situations. I always thought they lacked visors so that they would not be confused with officer's headgear, but that is most likely a doubtful theory of mine. I'll take an M43 Feldmutze anyday. Or one of the Camo jobs. Smart looking.

dean