Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Any WRANGLER experts out there?

dr greg

One Too Many
Just got this, and it's a bit different: there is a green selvedge both sides of the placket ( never seen that before) and there is no W on the pockets, and while every Wrangler jacket I've ever seen has a straight yoke, this has the western style yoke...there is no label remaining but I know enough about denim to place it around the 70's so not some lost treasure, but it's definitely rare....
vpoe7uz.jpg
[/IMG]

majormajor

One Too Many
I'm not an expert, but I have seen at least one of these - in a size far too small for me.

Wrangler did a whole lot of different stuff back in the 80's, so it could be from then.

A very nice jacket:D;)

apba1166

A-List Customer
Great jacket....and I think the look of it outscales the pedigree. Keep in mind that Wrangler, post Blue Bell, was really a licensing operation from VF (Lee, among others) who bought them in the 80s, and used them as brand leveraging via licensing deals all over the place. There were no real tight style guidelines, as there were for Levi, so if the jacket is a VF one, it could have come from anyplace with any one of a dozen "looks" and still sold under the Lee or Wrangler name by some retailer somewhere, or a chain who designed and/or ordered a batch, licensed the name, and put the brand tags on themselves.

Sloan1874

I'll Lock Up
I'm going to show my ignorance here: VF? Very nice jacket, though. MM is the presence of handwarmer pockets on a denim jacket a general indication that it was produced from 80s onwards?

majormajor

One Too Many
I'm going to show my ignorance here: VF? Very nice jacket, though. MM is the presence of handwarmer pockets on a denim jacket a general indication that it was produced from 80s onwards?