Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

White residue on Stetson hat

Martin6

New in Town
Howdy,

I am a hat amateur, and so I bought a black Stetson 4x Beaver on a whim because I liked the sort-of lightly-speckled look it had. I also liked the style and fit.

Then... it got wet, and then the white speckles turned into large white stains. (Which later wiped off mostly with a damp cloth.) Turns out maybe the stiffener was applied wrong or something like that?

So... is there anything I can/should do, or just enjoy it as is and try not to get it wet?

Thanks.

Howdy,

I am a hat amateur, and so I bought a black Stetson 4x Beaver on a whim because I liked the sort-of lightly-speckled look it had. I also liked the style and fit.

Then... it got wet, and then the white speckles turned into large white stains. (Which later wiped off mostly with a damp cloth.) Turns out maybe the stiffener was applied wrong or something like that?

So... is there anything I can/should do, or just enjoy it as is and try not to get it wet?

Thanks.