Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Vanson Ike jacket at Orvis

sbhva

Familiar Face
I followed a link and found this today. It appears that Orvis is now selling the Vanson Ike jacket in horsehide. The price seems reasonable to me, or at least much more so than is usual for Orvis.

Here is the link. (Moderators, if posting this link is not allowed please delete it and accept my apologies. I'm still a newbie here)

http://www.orvis.com/store/product....5&group_id=17278&cat_id=17281&subcat_id=17285

jon z

One of the Regulars
I'm sure that's a very nice jacket. It's a pity Orvis, who sales will probably be less than they potentially could be because of this, couldn't have taken more care of with the photography. Those images make it look positively PVC.

ideaguy

One Too Many
Orvis P.O.S.

DON'T BUY IT!! I have had the dubious pleasure of going to Orvis'
Flagship Store, in Vermont- and to the gigantic tent sale they have every
October-and have picked up virtually every piece of menswear I could, simply to check the quality vs. the puffed-up claims of immortality should you wear one of their $800. jackets. Everything I touched was too light (supposed to be heavy-duty), too cheesy looking, badly cut...
They had a jacket called the Halsey jacket- looked great in the ads. Made a special trip up on my m'cycle (before I went kaboom), saw a line-up of these jackets, and almost turned around & left right then. Talked to a Mgr. of a mid-western store doing some training in the corp. H.Q. there, and he told me where they were made, and let out the % of markup over cost; wow.
The Halsey Jacket was $795. if I remember correctly, and I wouldn't buy it
for any money- all my jackets are better (looking, fitting, made, quality...)