Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Unsung heroes? Sears Leather Shop, Montgomery Ward Quality Outerwear and other moto jackets that might have aged well despite bad reputations.

The Lost Cowboy

One Too Many
I spent the weekend researching 1970s and 80s Sears and Montgomery Ward motorcycle jackets. There really wasn’t much to research - the consensus on TFL seems to be that they are hardly worth the 100 USD price tags they generally go for on eBay.

And there are a LOT of ugly and poor-quality jackets from these makers on eBay. But the motor jackets from these two brands that I saw didn’t look to be bad quality to me - they looked very comparable to Schott Perfectos from the same era.

I’m a total newbie to leather though, and I’m just not confident yet that I have a discerning eye or i’m even aware of what I’m looking at.

One TFL thread I didn’t see while researching was one dedicated to some old jackets that members might have that have aged particularly well. I am mostly interested in brands that slip past the eyes of the discerning public, though - because we see enough of the high-end stuff already. Brands like Sears The Leather Shop or Montgomery Ward Brent (or post-Brent) or anything similar (I guess these could be considered the original mall jackets, no?).

I don’t know if anyone has any such jackets they’d like to share, but I’d love to see them - jackets that have proven over time to be winners despite being from brands otherwise known as losers.