Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Selco Hats of Brooklyn...

Aureliano

I'll Lock Up
In my search for a gray hat with Cavanagh edge, I came across this Selco which I bought from a small vintage shop in Manhattan. I've never seen this brand before. I know Robert (RLK) and another lounger have examples in their holdings. I'm thinking this one might be from the 50s.

The beaver felt on this one is dense and thick. It has a heather finish with longer hairs. Quite nice. The Cav. edge is nice and substantial. Beautiful hand to it. It was and it has been the dirtiest hat I've ever handled so I did what I've never done before: I removed the sweatband and bow--which was falling apart anyway-- and hand washed the felt with woo-lite. After 20 minutes of careful scrubbing, filthy water still kept coming. After good 45 minutes it was clean. This is the result after re-blocking it, sewing the leather anew, and replicating the bow with the great wind trolley attached to it. Fully functional as well. If you own any Selco, or can provide information about the brand, please post it here.

IMG_2941.jpg

IMG_2946.jpg

IMG_2947.jpg

IMG_2948.jpg

IMG_2949.jpg

IMG_2950.jpg

IMG_2951.jpg

IMG_2935.jpg

IMG_2952.jpg

Interesting! Selco marketed the Hückel brand for TONAK.

http://germanaustrianhats.invisionzone.com/index.php?/topic/6-johann-huckel%c2%b4s-sohne-huckel-hutfabrik-weilheim/page__view__findpost__p__162

The Selco liner logo is a direct take on the Hückel logo ( not sure how that happened :) ).

Hückel - Selco liner logo from above link.

3937553579_c656d0b608_o.jpg

Today TONAK hats are sold under the Selentino brand in America which could be the same or an off shoot of Selco.

It's possible Steven (Besdor) from Bencraft Hats has info on Selco.

Last edited:

Joshbru3

I'll Lock Up