Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Panama hats with folded and sewn brims

fedoralover

Call Me a Cab
Okay, I'm no expert on Panama's, too much rain here in Oregon to get too interested in straws. So you guys with more experience handling Panama's tell me this, how good a quality and high priced can a Panama hat be if it has had it's brim edge folded under and just sewn? The reason I ask is I see some on ebay that have been selling for over $200. You can see the sewn edge on the brims, but to me that seems just too high. I'm I wrong on this, please enlighten me you straw afficionado's.

fedoralover

BobC

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I've never seen a panama with a folded and sewn brim. All I've seen were backwoven, even the less expensive panamas.

indycop

I'll Lock Up
Before I found Panama Bob I got an overpriced one from a Panama hat store in St. Augustine. It had the folded and sewn brim. It looked like they sewed it down then cut the ends with scissors...it was cheap looking.

fedoralover

Call Me a Cab
Here's a pic of one that just sold on ebay for around $218. You can see the stitching on the edge of the brim. Granted it was a vintage hat but with all due respect to the seller, you got a heck of a sale on that one. IMHO.
So I'm hoping I'm not stepping on any toes here if the seller and buyer are lounge members, but one of the purposes of the lounge is to educate it's members. Now if I'm seeing something in these photos that is wrong, I'll do an honest and humble retraction, but it sure looks like a sewn edge to me.
mallorycomp2.jpg

fedoralover

Last edited:

job

One Too Many
Some straw hats are cut and sewn to keep an exact size. For an example a 2 1/2 brim on a panama to keep it dressy. If not the brim sizes would be all over the place.

Tomasso

Incurably Addicted