Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Dunlap Superior

DanielJones

I'll Lock Up
Well I got me a fairly pretty one today.:) It's a brand that I have little knowledge of so if anyone here can enlighten me on the pedigree of this hat it would be most appreciated. It is a Dunlap Superior, Browning-King Co. They state that it is from the 20's or 30's, although I'm not totally sure about that claim.
The leather sweatband and the liner appear to be in pretty good shape. As does the body of the hat. It's hard to tell from just the photographs, but it may never have been worn. Plus, if it is from the 20's, this will be a gem. But I'm not holding my breath. For now, I look at it as a very nice hat that begs to be worn.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=110115820729&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=001

So, if anybody has any information to share on this brand I would love to hear about it. Thanks for looking!:)

Cheers!

Dan

besdor

Vendor/Sponsor
So you beat me to it Dan. I'm glad it went to a fellow lounger. The truth is I think the brim is a little bigger than listed if it's from the 1930's. Enjoy your new hat.

Steven
www.bencrafthats.com

DanielJones

I'll Lock Up
Sorry about that Steven. I just saw the hat and jumped on it. I didn't pay attention to who was bidding on it. I could only hope that it is from the 20's. Thank you for your kind words.

Cheers!

Dan

Wesne

One of the Regulars
I saw that one, too small for me but I'm glad it's going to a good home. Looks like a wonderful hat.

Bogie

One of the Regulars
Congratulations Daniel!

You beat me by a dollar, but my mind is put at ease knowing that it went to a fellow lounger who will give it the good home it deserves.
Do post some pictures when it gets in your hands.

DanielJones

I'll Lock Up
Would love to know more...