Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Advice for 50s Sharkskin Tuxedo!

freddyboy

New in Town
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here, and have loved reading everyone's posts and looking at your amazing style. I'm joining the fray with a request for advice.

I just bought this vintage sharkskin 50s tux on ebay, to hopefully wear at my wedding.

397695684_22aa3ef473.jpg

I'd like to wear it with a vest, but it strikes me that cummerbunds are much truer to the fashions of the day. I'm not a cummerbund guy, though (i.e. -- belly). Do you think I can get away with a vest, or with neither a vest nor a cummerbund?

Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks!

[edited for gross misspelling of *cummerbund*.]

freddyboy

New in Town
Funny, I was wondering that myself. If I went without a vest or a cumberbund, would people notice? When I looked at some vintage pictures of the era -- the Rat Pack for instance (see below) -- it didn't seem that they were wearing cumberbunds. Perhaps a sharp, formal shirt and bow tie, with the jacket buttoned high would be enough?

Sands-RatPack1.jpg

Orgetorix

Call Me a Cab